What's Happenin'

A Sidelines blog

The Olympic Dream Program for Advanced Young Riders

March 06, 2012 By: Erin Category: What's Happenin'

Funded and administered by The Dressage Foundation 

The Dressage Foundation Young Rider Olympic Dream Program is ready to go for the eleventh year!

The concept of the program evolved as a result of former Olympian Michael Poulin’s wish to offer an opportunity for gifted Young Riders to enhance their understanding of dressage theory through a European tour. The program is both funded and administered by The Dressage Foundation.

The program is open to USDF Young Riders, riding at Fourth Level or above, who are 16-21 years of age. Also, 22-year-old graduates of the 2011 Advanced Young Rider Program may apply. The tentative dates for the trip have been set for August 12-22, 2012.

The current plan is to visit Ingrid Klimke, Jean Bemelmans, Wolfram Wittig, Matthias Rath, Hubertus Schmidt and former American team coach, Klaus Balkenhol—depending on each trainer’s availability. Plans also include attending the CDI in Cappeln, Germany. While traveling, the participants will record their observations in daily journals and chronicle events with photos and video to share with their home dressage organizations.

A Selection Committee comprised of leading American dressage persons selects four candidates based on their applications including an essay, DVD and written recommendations. Committee members want to see riding proficiency and commitment to training in the sport of dressage.

The application and further information on this extraordinary program is available on the TDF website: www.dressagefoundation.org  or you may contact Jenny Johnson or Beth Baumert:

The 2012 applications are due Friday, April 20, 2012. Candidates are encouraged to apply early and follow directions carefully.

This program is made possible by donors to The Dressage Foundation (TDF), a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization whose mission is “To cultivate and provide financial support for the advancement of dressage.”

From left to right: Kathryn Butt, Mary Bahniuk Lauritsen, Laura DeCesari, Jhesika Wells.